In a vase on Monday: Conversation piece

 

 

 

imageI wish I could remember the names of these two tulips picked this evening from the allotment, but I can’t even remember planting them. I do remember thinking that a deep purple and rich red tulip would complement Erysimum ‘Blood Red’ sown last year and even researched Sarah Raven’s website for suitable contenders. As an added extra for today’s jug I was able to pick a couple of stems of Sweet William, also sown last year but not quite out yet.

I was at the allotment for half an hour in between showers but it was long enough to pick probably the last of the purple sprouting broccoli and the very first stick (singular) of asparagus as well as rhubarb. I also dug up and composted all the old tulips including T. Purple Prince which was a hand-me-down from Poleseden Lacey last year in the hope that the new purple and red tulips (it’s not Queen of Night because I don’t think the flower shape is right, but the red could be T. Red Georgette) do not become infected with tulip fire unfortunately brought in on T. Purple Prince. I am not a tulip expert but I know a man who is. Mike ‘the Flower’, as we affectionately call him, worked as a florist for forty years and what he doesn’t know about flowers is not worth knowing.

 

image

Meanwhile scenting my sewing room is a pewter mug of frilly double with an egg yolk middle narcissus picked from the cottage garden yesterday. I have a similar variety in my front garden but mine do not flower very prolifically so I never pick them but I couldn’t resist bringing these home yesterday, the first flowers I have picked from the cottage.

image

And talking of sewing and flowers here is a progress report on Midsummer Sprigs. I’m really enjoying stitching this sampler and working on grey 28 count linen instead of black is much easier on my eyes. I know it’s not true to Alicia’s design or even to Mrs Delaney, the 18th century artist who created flower mosaics from coloured paper on a black background  and whose work inspired Alicia, but I’m very happy with the way it’s looking especially as I’m mostly matching the colours from my box of embroidery silks.

Let’s go and visit Cathy at Rambling in the garden to see what she and many others from around the world have found for their Monday vases this week. I wonder if any of you will be able to help in identifying my tulips. If I do have a brainwave and remember their names I will be sure to let you know. Here they are growing in the ground if this helps.

image

 

18 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday: Conversation piece

  1. Gorgeous colours, Sarah. I absolutely love dark tulips. I think the darker one could be Havran but I don’t know about the red one. Cutting flowers to bring home from the cottage makes perfect sense – you can enjoy them where you are.

    Like

    1. Thanks Sam, it certainly looks like Havran. So annoying I don’t remember planting these new tulips. I’m normally good at writing names down but I must have deep in cottage renovation last winter and simply forgot.

      Like

  2. I’m no help on the tulip identification – any tulip seen here is a minor miracle. I hope the tulip “fire” (something else I’d never heard of before your post) is easily eradicated. I love those Narcissus in the pewter jug.

    Like

  3. I love dark tulips most of all. Yours are gorgeous. I like your sampler also, particularly the light grey background, it is kind on the eye. I look forward to seeing it finished. Have a lovely week. x

    Like

  4. Lovely flowers and lovely vases too – I think I’ll have to dig out my husband’s pewter tankard now. Thank you for the reminder to go and check the rhubarb – I’d forgotten all about it! xx

    Like

  5. Oh what a dark and moody vase – and the dark tulip is such an elongated shape that surely must be distinctive enough to jog someone’s memory. I know we are told not to fret about names, but I for one feel my relationship with the plant is more complete if I know 😉 Your description of the narcissus as ‘frilly double with an egg yolk middle’ is so appealing… Glad too you are enjoying the embroidery – will you frame it when you are done?

    Like

  6. A perfect vase to set those tulips off Sarah. Two of your books also lurk in my bookshelves 🙂 It’s most frustrating when flower names go walk about. What’s the plan for the rhubarb – a crumble maybe? Mine is still not quite ready for picking. You are making good progress with the sampler.

    Like

  7. Both vases are delightful but the first one took my breath away – I just adore these colours and they go so well with the mysterious green of the vase itself. I got Germaine’s book too 🙂

    Like

  8. The colour of the vase in the first photograph is perfect for the tulips! Beautiful. My eye was drawn also by Germaine Greer’s edited collection which I hadn’t heard of – so thanks on two counts!

    Like

  9. This is my first chance to sit down and catch up on blogs in weeks and i see you’ve not blogged for a while – I do hope everything is ok. Sometimes a break is good. I have to say that I really do love the Midsummer Sprigs sampler on the grey background – it gives it a totally different look. Beautiful. x

    Like

Leave a Reply

