Yarn Along

image.jpeg

I do like having a pile of books to read. I’m still enjoying ‘War and Peace’ but I’ve been pleasantly sidetracked by Claire Tomalin’s biography of Pepys.  Tomalin is an excellent biographer and I can also recommend her biographies of Jane Austen and Charles Dickens.  This week I have also started a new book. For Mother’s Day my daughter gave me ‘A Whole Life’, a slim 150pp novella by Robert Seethaler.  It was published in Germany in 2014 and translated by Charlotte Collins.  It is a simply told story of one man but in his long life we see the human condition laid bare which perhaps helps us to understand our own lives.  On my way to bed last night I also picked up a collection of Kathleen Jamie’s poems. We had been watching Adam Nicolson’s programme about the plight of seabirds in the northern hemisphere and I remembered how beautifully Kathleen writes about the sea and birds.  She is also an essayist and has often asked the question ‘How are we to live?’.  I think her poems go a long way to answering that question and in many ways complement ‘A Whole Life’.

Meanwhile I whipped up a cowl.  I had crocheted a 100g skein of Eden Cottage Yarns Bowland DK into a shawl last summer but it was too small to be wearable and so last week I unravelled it, washed the yarn to remove the kinks and found a pattern for a seed stitch cowl on Chrissie Crafts blog.  The colour of the yarn is Rambling Rose but as a hand-dyed yarn it has beautiful colour variations running through so I’m calling it my Rose Quartz cowl.

Joining in with Ginny and her Yarn Along where we celebrate our love of reading and wool-winding.

6 thoughts on “Yarn Along

  1. What gorgeous yarn and a lovely texture. You’ve found some really interesting reading I think. I quite fancy the Dickens biography, good to hear you enjoyed it. CJ xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

