In a vase on Monday: Pink and Purple

image

image

 

After a three hour session in warm sunshine at the allotment this morning cutting back and weeding Autumn raspberries, lightly pruning my apple trees, thoroughly weeding garlic, strawberries, asparagus and purple sprouting broccoli and re-netting this last crop as I don’t want to lose it to the pigeons at this stage, not to mention  superficially weeding everywhere else I was more than ready for a bowl of celeriac soup.

Accompanying my lunch was a jug of pink anemones which as regular readers (ahem!) will know have been flowering since June last year and the first purple sprouting broccoli which were probably transplanted last June from an April sowing. The newspaper, today’s Guardian, is open at a spread of paintings by Nikolai Astrup, a Norwegian artist I’ve never heard of but whose work is being exhibited at Dulwich Picture Gallery from 5 February. I adore the painting of a young woman bending down to pull rhubarb watched by her young daughter amidst a cloud of apple blossom. How lovely to discover a new artist, for me it is equal to discovering a new writer.

I was so energised to be working on the plot. I hadn’t been down since just after Christmas and was dreading this first visit in a long time. But it wasn’t too weedy despite the mild temperatures and the rain and it was indescribably wonderful to be harvesting leeks, chard and purple sprouting broccoli as well as herbs and flowers on a mild sunny January day.

image

Just for Cathy I’m including a photo of the eaves room at the cottage – my eyrie. It is beautifully warm up here and I have an idea it could become my yoga studio. I don’t think I’ll be doing salute to the sun up here as head height is a bit of an issue but for stretching and relaxation I think it will be perfect.

Joining in with Cathy by posting In a vase on Monday.

 

20 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday: Pink and Purple

  1. Your anemones are still flowering?!!! Good grief! What more can I say – I am speechless! How many Monday vases have they been in, do you think? I am most impressed with how realtively weed free your allotment looks – you are doing well to keep up with it as well as things at home and at your new cottage. Thanks so much for showing the eaves room for my benefit – what a lovely quirky space, whatever you decide to do with it. Oh, and those paintings look most interesting

    Like

  2. Your anemones have the secret of eternal life, how pretty they are. I was taken by those lovely paintings in the Guardian too. What a talent.
    Today has been so lovely, what a joy to get out in the garden.

    Like

  3. After your industry in cleaning up your allotment, you more than deserved that bowl of soup! You already know how envious I am over your anemones. I’ve only just seen the first signs of anemone foliage peeking through the soil in my own garden. It looks as though you’re making progress with your cottage too – congratulations!

    Like

  4. Your time at the plot sounds wonderful. How nice to hear that things are already (or still!) growing. You already have a good start on the new growing season. Those paintings look lovely; I don’t know where the exhibit is in relation to you but I hope you’ll have a chance to see it in person.

    Like

  5. Your patch looks so wonderful! And all of your goodness growing and being tended to sounds amazing!!! I would love to grow some of that broccoli!!! Just to be out in the sun working in the garden sounds like the most fantastic treat! And your vase is beautiful!!! Really great to visit you here today friend! Happy day! Nicole xoxo

    Like

  6. I felt just like you did yesterday; the sun was warm so I began cutting back some of the perennials I’d left but now looked untidy. It was lovely to be outside. However long the Anemones have been flowers they are still gorgeous. How many did you plant?

    Like

    1. I planted about a dozen bulbs straight into the ground at the allotment in April. Unfortunately the bulbs I planted in pots at home in October haven’t produced anything except spindly foliage so I shall be getting these into my well-drained allotment soil as soon as possible and hoping for the best.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I can see that your lotti is really well looked after. I loved my lotti years, now I just have my garden, but there is something about the garden beyond which is magical. Your Anemones are just beautiful, one of my favourites? Are they in full sun? I shall be returning to see your answers to this and other questions above. I shall look up the artist.

    Like

    1. Yes, they are in full sun and growing in very well-drained soil too. We are lucky to have allotments, I’ve learnt so much about gardening since taking mine on 15 years ago, it’s played and continues to play a big part in my life.

      Like

  8. I love celeriac soup and anemones. Did you grow the celeriac yourself? I looks like you had a wonderful day. No sun to be spotted here today, nor yesterday and the wind has uprooted one of our small bushes.

    Like

  9. Your post might be the inspiration to get me to the allotment which I’m ashamed to admit to not having visited so far this year. It’s the thought of the swim up the waterlogged central path that puts me off. Those anemones deserve a long service medal!

    Like

  10. How great to find things going so well at your allotment, Sarah! The lovely anemones are amazing in their longevity. It tempts me to try growing them, but it is not mild enough in the winter here to expect blooms in the winter. We had a glorious sunny day here today after lots of rain, I need to get out soon and see if anything is blooming yet, I hope for some surprises.

    Like

  11. Love the eaves room- definite potential for yoga there it exudes peacefulness. Also loved the pic of your allotment. It really does look a beautiful place, no wonder you love it so x

    Like

Leave a Reply

