Hunkering down

image

A late summer visitor  at the allotment on Thursday.

image

Anemones have been blooming for six consecutive months and new buds are still forming.  I have an idea that if I protect the group with my cold frame I could have anemones for Christmas.

image

I finished my stool. The course I attended was not so useful for this project but the skills I learnt will come in handy when I upholster a pair of dining chairs.

image

Golden hour on Friday. I’ve missed the low winter sun streaming through windows and lighting up corners before dusk falls. November has been mostly implacably gloomy so far.

image

Juggling reading and knitting.

image

And remembering to photograph the mittens before consigning them to the post.

image

image

Nerines at Polesden Lacey and wishing I hadn’t dug mine up because of slug attack. I will try again.

image

Playing with  embroidery, such a low impact and soothing activity. Embroidery, like drawing or painting, takes practise and I know I have much room for improvement.

Halfway through November and I’m feeling the lack of daylight hours and sunlight.

So yesterday we started clearing and preparing our son’s bedroom for decorating. Right now it is a faded shade of pale yellow, a popular colour when this room was last decorated 20 years ago. We had planned to paint it a beautiful light refracting pale grey-blue using a Little Greene paint called Pearl 100, a colour we used successfully in our smallest bedroom earlier this year, but on reflection I am tempted to stick with yellow and have my eye on a Little Greene paint called Custard. It is a large east-facing room overlooking the garden and at the moment I’m craving the cheeriness of a custard-coloured room and feeling inspired to start piecing a quilt to decorate the new bed.

Just over five weeks until the shortest day and then it’s downhill all the way to summer.

How are you coping with the short days?

Je suis Paris.

4 thoughts on “Hunkering down

  1. It’s very comforting to have projects on the go and books to read. The recipient of your lovely gloves should be delighted. I hope you do have anemones for Christmas. I’ve been completely lost for words this weekend, so it’s good to read yours and see your lovely photos. Thank you Sarah. Sam x

    Like

  2. Look at you with your anemones still going strong. I think you must have bought magic corms. The short November days are depressing . You have inspired me to do some painting and try some different coloured walls. Reading is a solace all year round, if I had time I would start a book blog as books are just as important as the garden to me. I always like seeing what other people are reading and I see you have Offshore by Penelope Fitzgerald. A great book!
    I wish I had your talent with the needle, I love your stool.

    Like

  3. I’m so impressed with the anemones. I think you could very well have them blooming for Christmas, at this rate. I’ll be interested to learn more about your son’s bedroom; I would really like to repaint both of my children’s bedrooms but I’m at a loss for colors because both bedrooms are on the west wall of the house, directly abutting a fence and, just beyond, the neighbor’s house. The houses are very close together here. Their rooms are dark in winter and blazing hot and bright in summer. Right now, both rooms are just plain white, which works with this lighting situation, so I may just do a fresh coat of the same and call it good. But I’d love to do something more interesting…oh, decisions. I hope you’re having a good week, Sarah, take care.

    Like

Leave a Reply

