End of Month View: October 2015

image

I’m not sure about anyone else, but down my way it does not feel like 31 October. Plentiful rain has kept everything flowering and we have yet to experience a frost either at home or at the allotment. Today has been sunny and warm and we’re still wearing T-shirts and shorts and picking runner beans, raspberries and dahlias.

The weather has been so mild and still lately that the leaves are turning buttery yellow slowly and the flowers are fading gracefully giving a sense of the garden being suspended in time. I wonder what next month has in store for the garden?

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image image

Joining in with Helen, The Patient Gardener, and her EOMV.

10 thoughts on “End of Month View: October 2015

  1. Gorgeous photos, especially the top one, it’s all looking lovely in your garden. It has indeed been a glorious day hasn’t it. Long may it last! Enjoy the rest of the weekend. CJ xx

    Like

  2. It certainly does look like a slow fade there. We’re drowning in leaves which does make it feel a little more autumnal, but the weather has been lovely. Shame we packed up the garden table and chairs really, could have used them today!

    Like

  3. I know, it’s so warm isn’t it? We were actually hot on our walk yesterday and regretted taking coats. Everyone’s gardens are still so full of flowers. I think when the cold does come it will feel like a shock!

    Like

  4. I managed to miss a fair bit of October in my garden Sarah but from what I did see it was certainly a benign and gentle month. Your garden seems to have lapped it up. I do like that hydrangea. I’ve been picking raspberries from the allotment too and will be enjoying them atop my porridge in the morning.

    Like

  5. Uncannily warm on our walk yesterday. I had to tie everything round my waist. But then the sea mist rolled in and it was quite chill. your garden is still looking so fresh.

    Like

  6. Your garden is so beautiful. We had a very warm September and first half of October, but it’s been quite cold since then. We should have our first freeze by the end of this week, if the forecast holds true. I need to bring in my birdbath and feeders before it comes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

