Colour

image

image

image image

image

image image image

The North Downs were looking so colourful on Sunday.

A lapful of cosmos and anemone and two pots of raspberries at my feet. In the back of the car are parsnips, runner beans and leeks to accompany roast pheasant.
We called in at the allotment briefly on the way home. I harvested parsnips, runner beans and leeks to accompany our roast pheasant and picked two 500ml pots of raspberries. I think this could be a record. Meanwhile my husband dug up the sweetcorn for composting and dismantled the bean supports except for one last runner bean tripod. 
Asparagus fern lunchtime today.
Asparagus fern Monday lunchtime.
All gone.
Fifteen minutes later.
And weeded.
And weeded. This bed was mulched with seven barrows of well-rotted manure when I stopped cropping mid-June. That’s it, no more work on this bed until April when I will keep it well-weeded throughout the asparagus picking season.
The view from the gate.
The view from the gate.
And the view from my bedroom window this morning.
And the view from my bedroom window this morning.
6 thoughts on “Colour

  1. I do love this time of year and the changing colours of the trees, especially when the sun catches them. Here’s to a magnificent asparagus crop next year!

    Like

  2. Sounds like a perfect day to me, the Downs are looking beautiful in the autumn sunshine. Thank you for the timely reminder, I must clear the asparagus bed soon. My sweet corn was very poor this year, so less to do there than usual.

    Like

Leave a Reply

