In a vase on Monday – What’s new?

image

It’s a busy morning on the kitchen table so I’ve moved my vase into the sitting room to photograph it against slightly less clutter.

I had a quick whizz round the garden first thing with my scissors looking for flowers to complement the cosmos picked from the allotment yesterday and this is what I gleaned.

Two roses from Rosa New Dawn, one spike of lavender, Japanese anemone ‘Honorine Jobert’, pink Hesperantha, bronze fennel, a soft pink chrysanthemum (this from last week’s jug) and Salvia ‘Nachtvlinder’. I bought the salvia from the Wisley flower show last September and it spent last winter, which was very mild, in a pot with other herbs by the kitchen door. I guess I should have taken cuttings weeks ago to ensure survival through this winter but as it is my nature to live dangerously in the garden I’m prepared to risk it.

image

An overhead shot and a glimpse of Anemone coronaria Sylphide. I picked two flowers yesterday and, yes, there are more to come at the allotment. Also in the frame is a colander of podded borlotti beans. I stripped the canes yesterday and this batch are not fully ripe despite being planted out in June but I needed my husband to yank the hazel wands out of the ground so it was time to call it a day. An earlier harvest which weren’t shaded by the sweetcorn were picked and podded to reveal the red speckled beans some weeks ago. I will cook these according to a River Cafe recipe and freeze them for use throughout the winter. I’ve also brought some Blue Kuri squash inside to admire.

image

A quick note about the print above the kitchen table which is from a painting by Philip Sutton RA and was a free giveaway with Homes & Gardens magazine in 1992. It shows one of my favourite flowers then and now.

image

Joining in with Cathy from Rambling in the garden. Cathy’s Monday meme is such a good start to the week.

14 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – What’s new?

  1. Gorgeous soft colours Sarah, and a lovely arrangement. I love the delicate pink of your Hesperantha. Those squashes look good too. How do you cook yours? Someone recommended that they’re best with the tops sliced off, seeds removed, a knob of butter and a good grinding of black pepper inside, tops popped back on and baked in a medium oven for an hour or so. Once ready you can scoop the flesh out like a boiled egg. I haven’t grown any squashes this year to try it but it sounds delicious!

    Like

    1. Thank you for this recipe Sam. I love the look of blue squashes and they keep really well but they are so hard to cut into. I’m definitely going to give this a go. Usually I slice them into quarters using my Global serrated knife and roast them before peeling and using in soups, risotto etc.

      Like

  2. My eye too was drawn to the little pumpkins…I love the way you have photographed your arrangement with the low sun..it gives a really good feel of the low winter sun, even though the flowers are still looking as if we are in summer.

    Like

  3. That is a lovely print – and what lovely soft coloured blooms you have used in your vase (shan’t mention the A S…). Don’t you just love the hesperantha – mine (after its first full season) is gorgeous just now. I think I will live dangerously with the salvias I have had this year – can’t be bothered with cuttings (and I really don’t know hardy they are going to be anyway) 😉

    Like

  4. A most pretty and ethereal vase Sarah especially when viewed from above. Thanks for a timely reminder. Holidays and then time away looking after a poorly mother mean that my allotment has been neglected for the last month 😦 Must make time though this week to see what’s happened to my borlotti crop.

    Like

  5. Oh I thought the pink flowers were cosmos, lovely pinks. My pink anemones are very slow to establish, hopefully one day I will have plenty to cut too

    Like

  6. I love that ceramic vase, Sarah. It picks up the color of the Cosmos beautifully too. Your vase received a sigh from me when I saw the Japanese anemone – it’s pretty clear to me that mine will not be making an appearance this year, especially as our daytime temperatures are back in summer territory. Have a wonderful week!

    Like

  7. Lovely dreamy pink arrangement today. I love the squash too. I have grown beautiful borlotti beans in the past but always been disappointed by the small harvest. Did you get lots of beans from your plants?

    Like

    1. The quantity wasn’t too bad this year, say two small freezer bags of beans from 10 plants. But they took ages to start climbing and probably only set pods in September. I do like eating them though, especially crushed when still warm and served on bruschetta, and of course they aren’t really available to buy in their fresh state.

      Like

Leave a Reply

