Late afternoon at Polesden Lacey

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image image image

Just before 4 o’clock this afternoon the sun came out. I had been pottering in the garden – cutting back, digging out a trug or two of home-made compost and taking stock. I went indoors to put the kettle on but decided to forgo tea in favour of cycling up the hill to Polesden Lacey. I’m so glad I did, and I was home by 5.30 so not too late for a cup of tea and a raspberry jam tart.

image

image

image

image

image

14 thoughts on “Late afternoon at Polesden Lacey

  1. All decidedly YUM in this post. Wonderful pictures and leaf colours – do I spy Chalk? And I would have gone out too, although walking or running rather than cycling because it hurts my neck 🙂 x

    Like

    1. Yup, it’s the foothills of the North Downs here. I used to march my children up here when I could tell on picking them up from school that they had energy to expend! I go on my bike mostly because I have to cross a busy ‘A’ road and they’ve recently put filters on the traffic lights which makes it safer crossing for those on wheels but worse for pedestrians. Crazy.

      Like

  2. Well worth venturing out to see lovely autumnal colours – the late afternoon light is gorgeous, isn’t it? I agree with rusty duck, the potting shed is an object of desire!

    Like

  3. I want that little ceramic pea pod. And I think Polesden Lacey has a wonderful lime tree with a circular bench round its trunk. Or am I getting it confused with somewhere else? It’s been ages.

    Like

  4. It has an avenue of lime trees which flower in late spring. This year was the first time I noticed their gorgeous scent despite practically living at PL over the past quarter century. No circular bench around any tree in my lifetime. I wonder where you can be thinking of? The pea pod is by Worcester and was a birthday present from my husband many years ago. I either receive wheelbarrows or pieces of exquisite porcelain.

    Like

      1. No, but there may be one at Clandon, unless it was lost in the fire. I know for sure they had a whole orchestra of harlequin-dressed monkeys. I am very fond of those porcelain tureens with lemon wedges as handles, but just to look at, not to own.

        Like

Leave a Reply

