End of month view: September 2015

I thought I'd start in the front garden today and a view of my Norway Maple. It's the first thing I see when I draw the curtains in the morning and it is always busy with birds. There is even an old woodpecker's hole in the trunk. Years ago we uswd to watch the woodpecker make the hole and eventually it became so big he was able to go inside, turn around and come out again.
I thought I’d start in the front garden today with a view of my Norway Maple seen against a cloudless blue sky.
This is the view from the front of my house. We look out onto the homeslip, the field onto which the cows were turned after milking. The surrounding fields are still farmed but it is is nice to have a buffer of a green space and a woodland shaw. Beyond are the woods, common land and my allotment. We are very lucky that even though we live just 20 miles from London we have so much green space on our doorstep.
This is the view from the front of my house. We look out onto the homeslip, the field onto which the cows used to be turned after milking. The surrounding fields are still farmed and beyond this field is woodland which leads onto Common land and eventually to my allotment. We are visited by lots of mammals including deer, badger, moles and field mice and of course we see many different birds, especially wood pigeons!
Rosa Lavender Lassie after dead-heading and a liquid feed with weak comfrey tea.
Rosa Lavender Lassie by the front door. I had to deadhead and give her a feed with weak comfrey tea before taking this photograph. I must finish deadheading the lavender.

image

image

This is my collection of herbs and newly propogated material outside the kitchen door. I had to give up growing Rosemary at home because of Rosemary beetle but I have a bush at the allotment now for culinary purposes.
My collection of herbs and newly propogated material outside the kitchen door. I had to give up growing Rosemary at home because of Rosemary beetle but I now have a bush at the allotment for culinary purposes. I’m still wearing shorts and flip flops in the garden.
And this is my Growhouse in which I raise all my seedlings for the allotment. Just now I have Sweet Rocket waiting to be planted out at the allotment and some cuttings from Pelargonium Rose of Attar.
And this is my Growhouse in which I raise all my seedlings for the allotment. Just now I have Sweet Rocket waiting to be planted out at the allotment and cuttings from Pelargonium Rose of Attar. When these get bigger I intend using the leaves for tea making.
This is Sorbus hupehensis obtusa which I planted during the winter of 1993/1994 to mark the birth of my son. It has beautiful blue/green pinnate leaves which turn orange in late autumn and white berries tinged pink which usually last on the tree until January and the arrival of the Fieldfares. It is one of my winter wonders to see a flock of fieldfares descend on this tree on a bitterly cold day and strip it bare within hours.
This is Sorbus hupehensis obtusa which I planted during the winter of 1993/1994 to mark the birth of my son. It has beautiful blue/green pinnate leaves,  which turn rusty orange in late autumn,  and white berries tinged pink which usually last on the tree until January. It is one of my winter wonders to see a flock of fieldfares descend on this tree on a bitterly cold day and strip it bare within hours.
Hakonechloa macra aureola edges the woodland border.
Hakonechloa macra aureola edges the woodland border.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Autumn is here.

I am joining in with Helen from The Patient Gardener with my September EOMV.

14 thoughts on “End of month view: September 2015

  1. Yes, I think even I have to admit it’s autumn now. Today was almost a shorts day, but with a chill to the breeze I didn’t quite go for it!
    I love your view. And no shortage of wildlife. I hope they don’t damage your garden, especially the deer and badger.

    Like

    1. Just birds and hedgehogs and frogs and toads in the back garden as it is fenced. But the front is completely open and in a very dry summer the badgers have a field day on my lawn and literally rip it to shreds. The first year it happened I levelled and reseeded and covered it with yards of wide fleece which I’d got free with my Riverford veg box delivery and the paw prints over the fleece were like an art installation. No photo sadly. We love watching fox Cubs and young deer playing in the field.

      Like

  2. Beautiful colours in those maple leaves. Your garden is looking fabulous and you obviously plant well for each season. Mine is looking very tatty at the moment!

    Like

    1. Yes it is Julieanne. Hesperantha is much easier to say and type than schizostylis don’t you find. The reflections in the pond are beautiful at the moment and much better in real life than in photos.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a beautiful view you have. I enjoyed the tour of your lovely garden. It may be autumn but what lovely weather we are having, I love this time of the year when the trees are turning. I love your Sorbus.

    Like

  4. Such a beautiful garden Sarah, and I envy you that view at the front … mine is quite good too, but the fields are across the close and a neighbours parking space so it always includes cars.

    Like

Leave a Reply

