Aromatherapy relief

Rosa Fragrant Cloud growing at the allotment so no guilt cutting a spray of four roses to  bring home.
Rosa Fragrant Cloud growing at the allotment so no guilt bringing home a spray of four roses.
The first pesto with the first French beans and the very last of Red Epicure broad beans. The broad beans have been badly afflicted by black fly this  year and my first sowing of The Sutton I pulled  up before any harvesting because it was riddled with aphids.
The first pesto with the first two French beans and the last of Red Epicure broad beans. There is a another new aphid-borne virus attacking the French beans this year. As they succumb I’m pulling them out and sowing runner beans. Luckily this virus does not affect Borlotti beans – yet.
Lime Hawk moth feeding on Lilium Regale growing just outside the kitchen door.
Lime Hawk moth feeding on Lilium Regale, growing in a terracotta pot just outside the kitchen door. Aren’t the markings beautiful. The smell of lime tree flowers has been a revelation to me this year, it is probably one of my favourite scents.
Look at all these buds on my agapanthus.. Four weeks ago there were no signs of any flower stems so I took it to the allotment intending to chop it up with the spade and re-plant. It must have got wind of my intentions or it responded to comfrey tea and lots of sunshine.
Look at all these buds on my Agapanthus. Four weeks ago there were no signs of any flower stems so I took it to the allotment intending to chop it up with the spade and re-plant. It must have got wind of my intentions or more likely it responded to lashings of smelly comfrey tea and lots of sunshine.
Trachelospermum jasminoides growing in the sunniest south west corner of my garden. Just gorgeous. I have another one planted en route between garage and front door equally lovely.,
Trachelospermum jasminoides growing in the sunniest south-west corner of my garden. I have another one planted on the way between garage and front door which is equally lovely.
Rosa Lavender Lassie, bought last month and planted in a large terracotta pot by the front door for now.. At her feet is a sea of lavender which self seeds in the gravel along with erigeron  and violet.
Rosa Lavender Lassie, bought last month and planted in a large terracotta pot standing close by the front door for now. At her feet is a sea of lavender which self-seeds in the gravel. On a sunny day this area hums with bees. The other roses in the garden are mostly ‘resting’, a state which may last for some time.
Hemerocallis 'Hyperion'  with its gorgeous lily of the valley scent. Up above and twining through the pear tree is Lonicera Halliana. My garden smells wonderful.
Hemerocallis ‘Hyperion’ with its gorgeous lily of the valley scent. Up above and twining through the pear tree is Lonicera Halliana, equally fragrant.
A glimpse of my bone-dry July garden.
A glimpse of my bone-dry July garden. The rain drops were from a very fleeting rain shower one morning this week. We haven’t had any significant rain in my part of the south-east for months.
Hydrangea 'Heinrich Seidel' in the front garden. Hydrangeas aren't my favourite but I bought this outing our first visit to Heligan about 16 years ago and it always reminds me of my daughter losing and then finding a favourite toy cat. Oh the relief, it had to be celebrated with a small souvenir for each child and a purchase from the half-price section for me. Every year I cut about a dozen flower heads for drying and using for winter decoration.
Hydrangea ‘Heinrich Seidel’ in the front garden. Hydrangea¬†isn’t my favourite garden plant but I bought this during our first visit to Heligan about 16 years ago and it always reminds me of my daughter losing and then finding a favourite toy cat. Oh the relief, it had to be celebrated with a small present for each child and a purchase from the half-price plant section for me. Every year I cut about a dozen flower heads for drying and using for winter decoration.
Philadelphus 'Belle Etoile'. Just look at the black fly. I cut this stem, washed the black fly off and enjoyed it indoors for a few days.
Philadelphus ‘Belle Etoile’. I had not noticed the black fly until looking at this photo! I subsequently cut this stem, washed the aphids off and enjoyed its scent indoors for a few days.
Astilbe and hosta growing by the pond.
Astilbe and hosta growing by the pond. ¬†My pond has lots of water plants growing in baskets so fortunately blanket weed or algae is not a problem. The level of the pond has dropped as it always does during summer months but I don’t mind this natural drawdown of water. Next month the pondside planting will explode with colour from Schizostylis coccinea.
Finally my canvas work embroidery is coming along. I picked up Louise Curley's book from the library and have been dipping into it. Like me I think she grows most of her flowers for cutting on her allotment.
My canvas work embroidery is coming along slowly during daylight hours and I picked up Louise Curley’s book from the library and have been dipping into it. Like me I think she grows most of her flowers for cutting on her allotment. Seeing this photo reminds me that I thinned and transplanted half of a direct sowing of Sweet William at the allotment this week. Yesterday the transplants were looking very sad so I soaked them thoroughly and hopefully they will recover.
A collection of cacti in a collection of the children's mugs for my daughter. She is coming home for the weekend and on her bed is a new lavender sheet and a posy of sweet peas scenting her room.
Finally a trio of cacti in a trio of the children’s small mugs, a present for my daughter. She is coming home for the weekend and on her bed is a new lavender sheet and a posy of sweet peas scents her room. Delicious. What’s smelling good in your home or garden this weekend?
12 thoughts on “Aromatherapy relief

  1. I really enjoyed this post Sarah. Hawk moths are amazingly beautiful aren’t they. Your plants are looking fabulous. As for that agapanthus, well! I am slightly green with envy…

    Like

  2. It all looks so lovely! You really have some incredible blooms bursting through in your garden! And that moth is spectacular! As is your embroidery!!! So very talented you are! Wishing you an outstanding weekend! Nicole xo

    Like

  3. All very blooming and beautiful! We have had exceptionally heavy rain here in Scotland the past two nights, and my roses, which were beautiful, are looking quite battered and sad, hoping for a little sunshine today to help them along. X

    Like

    1. The weather in Scotland has been extraordinary hasn’t it. That rain at St Andrews – unbelievable. I’m not sure what’s better or worse – too much or too little rain, a good balance would be best!

      Like

  4. THank you for the trip around your garden. I love the smell of the Lime tree aswell. There’s a few where I walk the dog and I love being there at this time of the year

    Like

    1. The lime tree flowers are holding on well round here. I can honestly say I’ve not noticed them before. Since starting blogging my observational powers have gone from zero to ‘must take a photo’. It can be quite exhausting when you just want to have a nice walk!

      Like

  5. Thanks for leaving such a lovely long comment on my blog, I’m pleased to have found yours as you obviously like the same things I do, gardening, cut flowers and growing veg and then cooking it! I used to do a lot of embroidery too but haven’t done any since we moved to Italy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

