In a vase on Monday: flowers everywhere

image

Another fun-filled morning picking and ‘arranging’ flowers from the garden for Cathy’s In a vase on Monday meme.

As you can see I’ve been playing again and have four vases to share. The green jug contains Peony ‘Sarah Bernhardt’. I bought P. Sarah B as an unnamed peony from a garden visit years and years ago and she is now a substantial plant requiring much support. Up to last year this was provided by an ad hoc collection of canes and string but last year I splurged on Sidney, a rusty iron support from Plant Belles, and he is doing a marvellous job so far. This vase also has sprigs from three hardy geraniums: G. Kashmir White, G. pratense and an intense violet-blue variety which shines in the gloaming. This vase is now on the mantelpiece in the sitting room.

The cloudy green triangular vase has one stem of Rosa New Dawn. There are two buds as well as the opening rose so I hope they will all open indoors. There is a stem of variegated foliage from Rhamnus and another sprig of G. violet-blue and this vase is gracing my work room.

The silver bud vase has another stem of R. New Dawn, a stem of G. Kashmir White and one piece of Alchemilla mollis, this is going upstairs to the bedroom.

Finally a little blue mug with Nigella and the first ‘cupani’ sweet peas from the allotment. These were picked on Saturday and are perfect for the kitchen table. The little mug is one of a pair bought at a pottery in Scotland in 1990 and I”m very fondย of them as they were the children’s baby mugs and now they are perfect for my short-stemmed sweet peas.

The three empty vases will have to wait to be filled another day, but here is one more bowl of flowers I made earlier.

image

Before I go to search for muslin for straining and bottles for bottling my elderflower cordial I’m going over to Cathy’s blog, Rambling in the garden, to see what she and other bloggers around the world have been cutting and arranging for their Monday vases.

18 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday: flowers everywhere

  1. Lovely, Sarah. ‘Gloaming’ is a word I haven’t heard for a while and I know just what you mean about those geraniums โ€“ I have some too. I was looking at the elderflowers in our hedge yesterday thinking about cordial. You’ve spurred me to get a move on. Sam x

    Like

    1. I bottled it in plastic bottles (so the excess could go in the freezer) last night and drank my first chilled glass diluted with sparkling water and it was delicious, much more flowery and complex in flavour than commercially produced cordial. Hope you found time to make some too. As Chloris says the time for making is so fleeting. You could serve it alongside tea at the garden safari.

      Like

  2. So pretty. I love peonies and roses together. Your geraniums are unusual to me, I don’t think I’ve ever seen the violet color in a geranium before now, and the leaves seem different to me too. I love geraniums and try to plant some every year. They’re one of the few plants I have trouble killing immediately. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. These geraniums are what in the UK we call hardy or herbaceous or perennial geraniums and they are very tough and very free-flowering plants. They mostly disappear through the winter but in the spring they put out fresh green leaves and the flowers follow from May onwards. I think your geraniums are now called Pelargoniums in the UK and are mostly sold here as annual bedding or container plants. They wouldn’t survive outside in the UK through the winter so we take cuttings or over-winter them in a greenhouse. I especially like the scented leaf pelargoniums which have small insignificant flowers and leaves which smell of lemon or mint or pineapple or rose. Delicious and well worth looking out for.

      Like

  3. Your New Dawn roses are perfect – mine isn’t in the best of places and is not repaying me as well as your are! I love your collection of blooms and vases and all the history of them – as you say, this adds to the fun of the meme. And there is clearly going to be a sudden upsurge in elderflower cordial making… ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing

    Like

    1. This is my second R. New Dawn. My first planted over 20 years ago to scramble over the terrace with Clematis Jackmanii became very badly afflicted with rust so about six or seven years ago I dug her out. The clematis went too and I filled the space with Clematis Betty Corning. But I missed the rose and after leaving the ground rose-free for three years I re-planted and three years on she seems very happy to be twining up and over the pergola. I only ever ‘feed’ my roses with lashings of home-made compost and for the first time this year I have given them foliar washes with very dilute seaweed fertiliser which supposedly helps against black spot. I saw R. Guinee growing against a sandstone wall in the sheltered courtyard of Nymans on Sunday. Absolutely beautiful, the best rose of the season, so far…

      Like

      1. That’s interesting to read about the foliar washes – I wonder if comfrey solution (which I have finally got round to making) would be equally effective…? When I changed my ‘rose garden’ 3 years ago the 4 ZD roses survived the move but the 4 Guinee struggled and I replaced 2 of them last year so things are improving – they are not as vigourous as ZD though, but the opening buds in particular are stunning.

        Like

  4. Gorgeous roses and peonies. Every year I wonder if I could find a spot for a Sarah Bernhardt peony as they are so pretty in a vase. I made elderflower cordial last week too – I just love that smell and there are so many flowers this year! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. I love all your summery vases. Sarah Bernhardt is so beautiful.
    Well done getting on with your cordial. They elderflowers are so fleeting that you can’ t hang about.

    Like

  6. Your flowers sing of summer Sarah. I can just imagine the scent emanating from those ‘Cupani’ sweet peas. We have an elderflower staring at us when we look out of the kitchen window. It’s been a while since I’ve made cordial but I might be tempted.

    Like

  7. The peonies take the prize – but ‘New Dawn’ is pretty lush as well (and, and … sweet pea ‘Cupani’) – such a pretty little show of perfect flowers. And nice to end with that little hint about the cordial – unfortunately ours are already going over and I didn’t have time. Next year, perhaps?

    Like

  8. Lovely collection of blossoms and containers. How sweet to be able to repurpose the children’s mugs. I have a Beatrix Potter one from my daughter that sometimes is just right for small things and brings back nice memories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

