A post of delights

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

imageimage

It’s been a very good week. I cut my first rose of the year, Rosa Fragrant Cloud growing on the allotment. I joined a new ball of yarn (never having knitted anything before that required more than one ball). The finished item will be a cowl. I’m getting ready for the all-too-short strawberry season by strawing down my allotment strawberries. I grow three different varieties to try and extend the season. Last year the mice cached about three quarters of the crop. They bit off the unripe strawberries and made neat little piles in the strawberry bed. I’m hoping it doesn’t happen again this year. I bought “A Book Of Wild Flowers” from the library at Wisley Garden. It was published in 1956 and is illustrated with 160 plates after watercolours executed by Elsa Felsko for “Blumenatlas”. A beautiful and useful book. We visited a favourite garden which opens under the National Garden Scheme. They keep a herd of alpaca and I bought 100g of undyed wool for a new project. Finally I’ve painted a bedside cabinet using up tester pots of Farrow & Ball paint, cleaned and sanded an old oak bench and bought an 18th century table from a charity shop. Yes, it has been a very good week.

2 thoughts on “A post of delights

  1. A good week indeed! Your photographs are amazing!!! And how lovely to visit such a beautiful garden! Here is to another great week….I look forward to journeying along with you! Nicole

    Like

Leave a Reply

