In a vase on Monday: My first vase

imageI am joining in with Cathy from Rambling in the Garden with a vase of flowers and foliage hastily picked and arranged in the garden this morning. And only time for one quick photo as I was being chivvied to go out. I had already done a very quick session at the allotment consisting of picking asparagus, purple sprouting broccoli and chard for dinner tonight, sowing a short row of salad leaves, planting some Anemone coronaria ‘Sylphide’ and inspecting the sweet peas for slug damage. You see I’m already thinking ahead to future vases.

For completeness I should try and name the contents of my vase so here goes: Hydrangea petiolaris, Cornus sanguinea ‘Midwinter Fire’, Choisya ternata, Bergenia ‘Silberlicht’, Polystichum setiferum, Hellebore, Euonymus ‘Emerald Gaiety’, Heuchera, Epimedium sulphureum and Narcissus ‘Thalia’. The pottery vase I bought in Genoa, Italy, more than 20 years ago while on a business trip. It is very chipped and to begin with I used to colour in the chips with felt tip pen, but nowadays I rather like the fact that it isn’t perfect and is showing its age.

Hoping to join in again next week when I should have more time and thank you Cathy for coming up with such a brilliant meme and such fun vases to inspire and encourage us all.

2 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday: My first vase

  1. Hi Sarah – thanks for sharing your first vase with us. As I think you have already realised we soon get sucked into the weekly habit – which is a good thing of course, and is essentially why I started the meme although I didn’t know it would get so popular! It is always good to have details of the content and info about the vases or any props as it adds to the interest and is a great way of sharing ideas.To add a link from a meme back to your post if you click on the title of your post and when the url appears in the web address bar copy it (ctrl C) and then paste (ctrl V) it into the comments box of the other blog along with your comment (so for this post it would be https://homeslip.wordpress.com/2015/05/04/in-a-vase-on-monday-my-first-vase/ ) That’s the way I do it anyway!

    Like

  2. Thanks Cathy, and for the technical info! I Keep having Eureka moments with this blog. It’s certainly testing but amazing to connect with other bloggers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

